NCAA Tournament Picks for 2013

Redemption time.  Last year I ended up with 570 points and in the 16.3 percentile marking the third year in a row that I ended up falling short of 25 percentile.  However, this year I’m feeling confident and I will not be second guessing picks this time around.

Last year I originally had Kentucky winning the whole thing but saw that 35% of brackets also had the Wildcats winning and I felt like at the time that it was too good to be true so that’s when I made some major changes including putting UNLV in my Final Four…yikes.

I guess we’ll see what happens this year.  You can view my picks here once the games start and this year I’ve decided to join the Mike & Mike group and you may notice that from time to time I will leave comments on the discussion board.  My username is edboogie2006.

With that said, here are my upset picks as well as my Elite Eight and Final Four for the 2013 NCAA Tournament:

2nd Round

Midwest Region: 9 Missouri over 8 Colorado State

South Region: 12 Akron over 5 VCU, 11 Minnesota over 6 UCLA

East Region: 14 Davidson over 3 Marquette

West Region: 13 Boise State/La Salle over 4 Kansas State, 15 Iona over 2 Ohio State

3rd Round

Midwest Region: 7 Creighton over 2 Duke

South Region: 12 Akron over 4 Michigan

East Region: 8 NC State over 1 Indiana

West Region: 13 Boise State/La Salle over 5 Wisconsin

Sweet 16

Midwest Region: No upsets.

South Region: 3 Florida over 2 Georgetown

East Region: 8 NC State over 4 Syracuse, 6 Butler over 2 Miami

West Region: No upsets.

Elite 8

Midwest Region: No upsets.

South Region: No upsets.

East Region: No upsets.

West Region: No upsets.

Elite Eight Teams: 1 Louisville, 3 Michigan State, 1 Kansas, 3 Florida, 8 NC State, 6 Butler, 1 Gonzaga, 3 New Mexico

Final Four Teams: 1 Louisville, 1 Gonzaga, 1 Kansas, 6 Butler

National Championship Teams: 1 Louisville, 1 Kansas

National Champion: Kansas Jayhawks

Best of luck to the rest of you who are playing.

Update #1: After the 2nd Round, I had 200 points and I was in the 37.0 percentile.

Update #2: After the 3rd Round, I had 340 points and I was in the 10.8 percentile.

Update #3: After the Sweet 16, I had 420 points and I was in the 10.1 percentile.

Update #4: After the Elite 8, I had 500 points and I was in the 22.0 percentile.

Update #5: I ended up in the 52.5 percentile.  I’ll consider this year to be a moderate success and of course you have to keep in perspective that I only made one bracket too so I really didn’t do horribly bad but it wasn’t as high as I wanted either.  But on to next year…

As far as why I haven’t been posting blogs and if I have anything in the works, I haven’t been posting anything because as much using the term “busy” is a cliche , it is the truth and also I’ve constantly had company over at my house so it’s not always easy to research or write anything but I do plan on trying to get back to writing soon.

As far as what I might be posting about, I don’t know just yet but stay tuned.  I’ll find something.

Leave a Reply

